The insurance investigator called Rachel just after nine the next morning. The broker had finally supplied a copy of the electronic submission package, including the authorization attached to my application. It was different from the version we had already examined. The newly produced document contained additional identifying information, a typed witness name, and a date that preceded the policy application by several days.
Rachel asked the investigator to send the document through the secure channel and preserve the original electronic file. The investigator agreed, explaining that the company needed to establish when the file had been created, who had uploaded it, and whether the information had been changed after submission. She emphasized that the existence of a second authorization did not resolve the dispute. It created another document whose authenticity and purpose needed to be verified.
When Rachel received the file, she immediately forwarded a copy to Peter and the document examiner. I studied the page on her screen. The signature looked more like mine than the signature on the first copy, but the resemblance made me more uneasy, not less. If someone had copied my signature from an authentic document, the result might look convincing without representing my consent.
“Do you remember seeing this?” Rachel asked.
“No.”
“Have you ever signed a document with this heading?”
“No.”
She asked me to check the date against my calendar and any records from that period. I remembered that I had been attending medical appointments late in my pregnancy, but I had not met with an insurance broker or signed financial documents outside my ordinary household paperwork. Rachel made a note of the dates and asked me to provide any appointment records that could establish where I had been, without assuming that my location alone would settle the question.
Peter examined the electronic file's available metadata. The document had been uploaded through a broker's account, but the information did not identify the person physically responsible for submitting it. The file had been saved under a generic name rather than a name associated with me. A separate record showed that the application had been opened for review by a user account connected to the intermediary company.
That connection was significant, but it was not conclusive. The intermediary company had been involved in several North Lake transactions, and its employees could have handled administrative work for legitimate reasons. We needed the access logs and the broker's communications to determine who had supplied the authorization and what instructions accompanied it.
Rachel asked the insurer to preserve all available access records and to identify the account that had opened the application. She also requested the broker's original email correspondence, any instructions received from the intermediary company, and any notes made during the application process. The insurer agreed to add the requests to the investigation, although it could not promise that every record would still be available.
At eleven, Peter found an invoice from the intermediary company to the broker. It described a consulting service provided during the same week the policy application was submitted. The invoice did not mention insurance, and there was no attached statement of work. Peter added it to the transaction chart but cautioned that the payment might relate to another service. The company would need to explain what it had purchased.
Rachel called Mark's attorney and asked whether his client had any information about the broker or the second authorization. The attorney said Mark denied preparing or submitting the application himself. He maintained that the policy had been arranged as part of a broader family financial plan and that he believed the necessary consent had been obtained.
Rachel asked for the document on which that belief was based. The attorney said he would seek instructions from Mark and respond in writing.
I felt anger rising as I listened. Mark had repeatedly told me that I had agreed to the policy, yet the insurer was now examining two different authorizations, neither of which I recognized. The fact that a second document existed did not prove who had created it, but it made his casual insistence that everything was settled harder to accept.
During the afternoon, the document examiner contacted Rachel with preliminary observations. The questioned signatures on the two authorizations differed in several respects from one another and from my verified samples. The examiner would not yet say whether either had been forged. The available copies did not permit a definitive conclusion, and the original electronic files and any physical documents would be needed for further examination.
Rachel asked the examiner to provide a written report describing the limitations of the comparison. We would not exaggerate the findings or present a preliminary observation as a final conclusion. Still, the inconsistencies gave us a clear reason to challenge the insurer's assumption that the authorizations were valid.
At three, the insurance investigator requested another interview, this time focusing on the circumstances in which Mark had handled my personal records. I explained that he had access to household files and had helped organize my father's estate papers, but I had never given him authority to sign on my behalf. I also explained that I had refused to sign the trust documents he brought home shortly before our son was born because the supporting exhibit was missing.
The investigator asked whether Mark had ever told me that he was arranging a policy for my protection. I said no. He had discussed general financial planning, but he had never mentioned a policy worth $2.5 million or told me that he intended to name himself as beneficiary.
After the interview, Rachel reminded me that the investigator was building a timeline rather than making a decision based on a single conversation. I appreciated that approach. I wanted the truth established properly, even if the process took longer than I wished.
That evening, Mark's attorney sent a written response. Mark said he had relied on the advice of a financial adviser and believed the policy was part of the family's long-term planning. He denied intentionally misrepresenting my consent. The response did not identify who signed the authorization, explain why two versions existed, or account for the intermediary company's involvement.
Rachel drafted a reply asking for the adviser's name, the engagement records, and any correspondence concerning the policy. She also requested that Mark preserve all communications with the broker and intermediary company. The letter was direct but restrained. It did not accuse him of a specific crime; it asked for the records necessary to test his explanation.
The following morning, the broker's attorney agreed to provide additional correspondence. One email showed that the broker had received the application package from a contact at the intermediary company. The sender's address was associated with an employee who had also handled paperwork for North Lake. The email instructed the broker to process the application using the attached authorization and said that the original would be supplied if needed.
The broker had replied asking whether the insured person had completed the required verification. The response stated that verification had already been handled by the client. No record showed that the broker had spoken directly with me.
Rachel read the email carefully. It did not establish who prepared the documents or whether the broker had knowingly accepted invalid authorization. But it showed that the application had been routed through the intermediary company and that the broker had relied on a representation of prior verification rather than contacting me.
Peter compared the email date with the invoice and the North Lake ledger. The intermediary company's payment to the broker-related service provider had been processed two days after the application was submitted. The payment description remained vague, and we still needed the invoice supporting it. The dates, however, were close enough to warrant a formal explanation.
At noon, the insurance investigator confirmed that the company had placed the policy under a formal dispute review. No further beneficiary changes would be processed while the review remained open. The investigator could not say whether the policy would be canceled, but she confirmed that the insurer would examine the application records, the broker's statements, and the evidence I had provided.
I felt a measure of relief. The policy had not disappeared, and its legal status remained unresolved, but the insurer was no longer treating the application as uncontested. I asked Rachel to send me the written confirmation so I could keep it with the rest of my records.
Later that day, Samantha called Rachel with another detail about Mark's behavior. She said he had recently asked her to confirm that she had received the insurance documents months earlier. When she asked why, he said he needed to establish that the family had discussed its financial arrangements. Samantha told him that she remembered receiving papers but did not recall agreeing to anything on my behalf.
Mark had become angry and told her that she was forgetting important conversations. Samantha had ended the call and sent the exchange to her attorney. Rachel asked her to provide the original messages and a written account of the conversation. The information might help establish how Mark had described the policy to different people, although it would not independently prove who submitted the application.
I thought about how often Mark had used the same tactic with me. When I questioned something, he suggested I was tired, confused, or failing to remember what we had agreed. Now Samantha was describing a similar conversation. I could not know whether every detail of her recollection was accurate, but the pattern deserved attention.
At four, Peter received the invoice supporting the intermediary company's payment to the broker-related service provider. It described a document coordination service but did not specify which documents had been coordinated. The invoice was approved by an employee whose name appeared in the application access records. Peter added the connection to the chart and requested the underlying work order.
Rachel warned me that the invoice alone could not establish misconduct. It might have covered routine administrative services. But together with the email instructing the broker to process the application, it created a clear line of inquiry: who had arranged the documents, who had claimed the verification was complete, and why the insurer had never received direct confirmation from me.
That evening, I received another message from Mark.
“I never wanted you to be frightened. I thought the paperwork was being handled properly.”
I read it, then placed the phone beside the insurance letter. His words sounded more like an explanation than his earlier threats, but they still left the central question unanswered. If he had genuinely believed the paperwork was proper, he should have been able to identify the person who obtained my consent and provide the records supporting it.
I forwarded the message to Rachel without replying.
The next morning, the investigator asked the broker to identify the person who had supplied the authorization. The broker said he had communicated primarily with the intermediary company's employee and had relied on that person's assurance that the paperwork had been completed. He could not confirm that the employee had witnessed my signature or met with me.
Rachel requested a formal statement and the complete correspondence. The broker agreed to cooperate, although his attorney reserved the right to clarify the statement after reviewing the records.
For the first time, the evidence suggested that the insurance application had not been submitted through a straightforward conversation between me and a broker. It had passed through several people and an intermediary company, with each relying on someone else's claim that my consent had been obtained.
I sat with that thought for a long time. The policy might have been intended as financial protection, as Mark continued to claim. But no one had explained why it required my signature without my knowledge, why the beneficiary was Mark, or why the records were routed through a company already involved in the disputed restructuring.
Rachel called just before lunch with one final update. The insurer had requested a written explanation from Mark and asked him to identify the source of the authorization. His response was due within several business days.
“Whatever he says,” Rachel told me, “we'll compare it with the documents. We won't accept a statement simply because it comes from him, and we won't reject it simply because we distrust him. The records will determine what can be established.”
I looked at the papers covering my desk. For the first time since the divorce announcement, I felt that the investigation had moved beyond my suspicions and into a process capable of testing them. The truth might still be complicated, but it was no longer entirely under Mark's control.
Click here to continue reading: PART 15: Mark Offered to Return My Inheritance, but the Condition Attached to His Offer Revealed What He Still Wanted to Hide
He Asked for a Divorce Before Sunrise, Never Realizing What His Exhausted Wife Had Quietly Discovered About Him
Part 14 of 20
